Enjoying Leeds solo

I’ve been a bit of a home tourist in Leeds today, all on my lonesome, so I thought I’d share what I’d been up to. I can tend to get a bit lazy when I’m by myself and just stay in enjoying the me time, but I made myself get out and about to enjoy the gorgeous weather this morning – cold but bright!

First off I decided to go up to Roundhay Park for a run. Bangs and a Bun recommended trying a route around the lake, and it was the perfect day for it. I’m very new to running (as in, this was my third ever and I walked nearly all of it) so it really helps to have pretty scenery to distract me from the fact that I’m being lapped by pensioners.

 

Isn't it beautiful?

 

Next I headed to Temple Works, where they were having a book sale. The room was crammed with books, plus tons of gorgeous, raggedy old furniture where you can sit and leaf through your finds. I bagged 5 awesome books for £8, and I wish I could say they were Christmas presents for people, but they’re all mine! I’m a real bookworm so I’ll take advantage of pretty much any chance to pick up cheaper books. Plus, second hand helps the planet! The sale is on again tomorrow (Sunday) 1pm to 5pm so do get down there if you have chance – there’s tons to choose from! You’ll especially like it if you’re into psychology, poetry, cultural theory, feminist theory or theology – whilst there’s a wide range of stuff these topics are especially well represented.

 

A tiny proportion of the books available.

 

A wider view.

 

My haul.

 

I haven’t tucked in to my books yet – I’ve had an evening in with the girls watching X Factor. I live really close to the Sunshine Bakery, so I swung by beforehand to pick up some sweet treats. I did intend to take a photo of them but unfortunately we ate them before I remembered. They went down a treat!

Leave a comment

Filed under Home Tourist

Leave a Reply

